Progress Update

I want to update you on my progress to date. As you know from my prior post I have set a plan in motion,and have taken the first steps in my plan. I researched what forms I need to file a motion,to get a variance on my existing child support order. I then went to the clerks office at the court house and ask for these forms,and was not treated with respect in my opinion.

I have read these forms trying to fully understand them and the proper procedure in which to fill them out accurately,as well as correctly so they will be accepted in family court. There is a link to the right on this blog.where you can download all the forms that you will need for family court. When you open the link for these forms you will notice that you can open them in PDF format or word format.I suggest that you open them in word format and read them carefully and then fill the form out in word as accurately as possible.

Once you have fill the forms out you can then save them to a separate (New Folder) named court documents,or what ever you choose. Then you will have easy access to these documents and you can print all the necessary copies you will need for court and copies to send to your spouse or her lawyer.

Anyway this what I have done to date. I also went to fathers-resources tonight and listen to a tele-seminar about mediation for couples getting divorced. I listened to Danny and Heidi discussing different issues regarding mediation and it was very good information all fathers need to learn that are going through mediation.

It was quite interesting to find out that mediation does not guarantee a father his rights as a parent.Because in the end the judge has final say in the matter and can totally ignore the mediation report.

However,with that said mediation is a necessary step we as fathers should not overlook. mediation lays the ground work to settle disputes about child access and custody issues as well as child support payments which is very important when it comes to the children’s rights in all matters concerning divorce or separation.

I ask if mediation was just another form of bureaucracy fathers have to suffer through and they said that mediation wasn’t the problem. They then told me that it is the court system in Ontario that shows no empathy for fathers in family court and that fathers are discriminated against from start to finish.

I knew this already from my own experience,but it just reassured me of what I already know and now I know I have my work cut out for me to get this variance through the court system.

Anyway to all fathers if your going through a divorce or separation you need to educate yourself to protect your rights and your children’s rights. Please check out the link I have to the right on this blog fathers-resources and read the information and listen to the tele-seminars it’s the best and informative site that helps fathers going through divorce.

Thanks for listening today

Leave a comment